Fire Pit Patio

When my husband and I first bought our house, I loved the idea of sitting out in the back yard roasting marshmallows and making s’mores.  We got a fire pit from Lowe’s and some chairs and we thought we were all set.  But alas, nothing is as easy as you want it to be.  My husband and I were sinking into the ground as we roasted our marshmallows.  No matter how dry the ground seemed to be, we sank!  I was determined to fix this and I was going to do it myself.  I was going to make a patio so we could enjoy our marshmallows without the fear of the earth swallowing us whole!!!!!

I wanted to do this HUGE patio that we could have lots of stuff on; plants, benches, chairs, loungers, and a fire pit.  I wanted it all.  However, when I started to dig the patio out by hand…I quickly realized that I needed to scale back my dreams.  DSC00359

A 10×10 plot would do just fine.  (originally I wanted to do something 3x that size)  Digging out the hole was the WORST!  Took me the whole weekend.  The hubby helped by wheelbarrowing the dirt out of the area because my arms were like jelly.  DSC00364

Next came the fun parts.  Fun is a relative term 🙂  We put some weed barrier down and covered that with paver stone.  The bags of stone are really heavy so they are not for the faint at heart.  We then had to go out and buy a tamper.  I had no idea what this was until I googled it  So off to Lowe’s we go!  Came home and tamped out the rock to make it level.  This also is not for the faint at heart.  It was tough work!  It took us an entire day to add the barrier, put down the rock, get the tamper, and tamp it down.  My hubby and I took turns getting the rock level.  Next is where the magic happens!DSC00366

PAVERS!!!!!  You can see the tamper in the middle left of the picture.  We also had to go out and buy a deadblow.  This is what you see on the pavers.  It helps when the pavers are just a little out of level.  I started in the upper corner and went out from there in a triangle pattern.  This was actually fun.  I recommend doing this in the shade though.  I started this in the morning when this part of the yard was in the sun….whooooweee was it HOT!  We used 12″x12″ pavers so we needed 100 of them.  We had to make a couple of trips in our SUVs to get them all.  We got a few extra in case some didn’t look perfect (we ended up braking a few the first few times we used the the deadblow because we used it like a hammer…this is a nono.)

FINALLY!!!!!!!  WE HAVE A PATIO!!!!!DSC00002

We added the sand in the cracks and watered it down the next weekend.  Then it was time for my to bring out my inner HGTV self.  I added  a bench, the firepit, the chairs, and some plants.  I am really happy with how it turned out!  We will be having s’mores and marshmallows for years to come!!!!

End Product:  #LOVEIT10437440_10202996982060445_7532054926446970138_n

Let me know what you think!  Do you love it or think it’s over the top!

Leave a Reply

