Raised Garden

Gardening is easy they said, it will be fun they said.    I don’t know who “they” are, but they are completely wrong on the easy part.  Gardening is a lot of hard work, but for me it is really fun and rewarding. This will be our 3rd garden this year so let me take you back to how it all began!

Growing up my mom always had an itty bitty little baby garden of 1 tomato plant.  And sometimes it wasn’t even an actual tomato plant, it was a cherry tomato plant.  I watched her do it and she really enjoyed going out and picking those tomatoes to eat (I despise tomatoes, so I’m not sure why this struck such a chord with me but nonetheless, it did.)  So I did some research.  After my experience digging up the patio, I wasn’t ready to jump back into digging up the earth again.  I saw raised garden beds and thought….Eureka! So always being one to jump into to the deep end, I bought 2 sets.  20140427_164412

Putting them together was a lot like Tetris, but not difficult.  I would rate it a 2 out of 10.  The hardest part was holding the little end caps on while you nailed it into place without hitting your thumb.  Weed barrier went down and then I was ready for dirt.  Or so I thought I was.  There are like 100 kinds of dirt and compost…it’s crazy!  Back to trusty Google I go.   Living in New England, I found out that they make a compost out of mostly seafood which does really well up here.  I had a local nursery delivery 2 cubic yards of soil and compost together.  (FYI – when you are having soil, mulch, compost, etc delivered invest in a tarp…trust me its worth it)  While using the wheelbarrow to move the said dirt combo from our driveway to the garden I was pretty sure I was going to expire.  It was about 90, no clouds, and unbelievably humid.  Hindsight being 20/20, it was a gorgeous day the next day so I should have waited.  Something you will learn about me is I am a “DO IT NOW” type of person.  Instant gratification!  Anywho, I got all the dirt in the garden and went into the house to cool off.  The next day, the hubby and I went out to get plants!20140518_160201

We got squash, cherry tomatoes, beef steak tomatoes, peppers, watermelon, basil, mint, and zucchini.  I good mix if I do say so myself.  I thought now I could sit back and relax and wait to reep the rewards of my garden.  NOPE!  There is weeding at least 2x a week, watering every night it doesn’t rain, and feeding my little friends.  But, none of it was really hard work.  Soon we started to see out little baby plants start to grown up!20140613_155835

It was crazy!  Beginner’s luck.  To tell the truth we actually had more cherry tomatoes than we could eat.  If you are going to get cherry tomato plants, 1 is more than enough.  They produce like 200 tomatoes pretty much all at the same time.  We had squash and zucchini almost every night in some form for about a month.  10530892_10203164520208794_6293599721834900921_n

I would say that we did pretty good for our first time around.  This year we have pretty much the same stuff.  If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it right?

One thought on “Raised Garden

Leave a Reply

